What should I do after a car accident in Mission Viejo or Orange County? What are the legal requirements for someone involved in a motor vehicle accident in California?
Most of the people who will suffer injuries in a Mission Viejo car accident this year have never been involved in an accident resulting in injury before. Any motor vehicle accident resulting in injury can result in a personal injury claim. The actions you take after the accident can make a significant impact on the success and ultimately the value of your personal injury settlement or verdict.
The first and most important thing is to do after a car accident in Mission Viejo or Orange County is to see a doctor for a thorough medical evaluation within 24 to 48 hours of the accident, even if you think you are uninjured. If you fail to see a doctor in this time frame it may not be possible to file a personal injury claim at all. Many serious and painful long term injuries and associated symptoms can take days or weeks to appear and this is why it is so important to be checked out by a doctor.
California law establishes several things you must do after a car accident in Mission Viejo or Orange County:
• Stop your vehicle if you are involved in an accident
• Help anyone who is injured and call 9-1-1 or an ambulance
• It is mandatory to exchange information with others in the accident including the name and address of the driver of each involved vehicle, as well as each individual’s driver’s license number, license number, the address of the registered owner of the vehicle and proof of financial responsibility
What you say to other drivers, occupants and witnesses at the scene can have an impact on your personal injury case. Do not speculate or exchange your views on what caused the accident or who was at fault. Be cautious on social media. What you communicate to co-workers, family and friends and post online can adversely affect an otherwise valid personal injury claim.
Draw on our more than 40 years of experience to learn more about what to do after a car accident in Mission Viejo or Orange County. We invite you to review the recommendations of clients and the legal industry and contact us or call 949-305-1400 to speak with one of our attorneys personally for a free consultation.